Doing what's important (069)

1st Law Monday - June 17th 2024

Doing whats important

From where I sit, I ask myself, how did I get here?

The hardest part of life is thinking and decision making. This is the main difference maker in your life. I feel as though I need to spend more time contemplating how to live a fulfilling life.

If I could live my ideal life and choose how I spent my time - besides traveling more - I would spend all of my time reading, thinking, exercising, spending time with those I love, and writing. The thing is, I know this is possible, but how do I get there?

I have put in countermeasures to reduce the time I waste on YouTube and social media (I say waste because anything that I did not list above is a waste). But I feel like it has not made the biggest difference. Perhaps I need more time to contemplate my passions and what I really care about. On this vein, I recently started drawing again. It has been years, but I got a new sketchbook and decided to just vibe out and draw at night instead of consuming media.

I am terrified of waking up in 50 years and realizing that I lived my life to other peoples ideals and not my own. I say this because it is scary how fast the time is going. I am already 24, a quarter way to 100. The weeks are flying by and 2024 is already half over. And what am I doing with my life? All I know currently is that staying in shape is of utmost importance. If the mind and body is healthy, anything can be done.

Overall, I guess the message I am trying to convey is to be intentional with your life. Decide you have free will, spend time thinking and deciding what you care about and want in life, and work towards goals. Plan how you will be able to spend your time doing things you love to do.

Thank you for tuning in to my rant. Just a reminder, I read every reply to these newsletters and I love all of my subscribers :)

What I’m Reading

I am still reading Essentialism by Greg McKeown. So far it is really good, I will keep you posted.

Have a great week :)

Lucas