The Value of Friendship (059)

1st Law Monday - May 13 2024

Quick Thoughts on Friendship

“For what is your friend that you should seek him with hours to kill?
Seek him with hours to live.”

Kahlil Gibran

This may seem like semantics but the truth of it runs deep. If you only seek your friends to waste time, the relationship will reflect that with shallow connections and easy distractions. Instead, seek them for adventure and to bond over new and engaging challenges.

“When you part with your friend you grieve not;
For that which you love most in him may be clearer in his absence, as the mountain to the climber is clearer from the plain”

Kahlil Gibran

A thought exercise I sometimes perform is to think about the best qualities of people I know, friends and enemies alike. Their humour, or work ethic, or generosity, or confidence. This inspires me to replicate and exemplify what makes them such a great person in an attempt improve myself, and reminds me why I like being friends with them in the first place.

What I’m Reading

Last week I read The Prophet by Kahlil Gibran. It was incredible. I found it to be profound and beautifully written, almost poetic in style. I hope you enjoyed the quotes above. It is a book that needs to be digested to be fully appreciated, and is definitely worth reading and re-reading.

This week I will be continuing to read Power vs. Force by David R. Hawkins. I started this book in January and I will pick up where I left off.

Have a great week :)

Lucas