The Holiday Mindset Strikes Again (019)

1st Law Friday - December 22 2023

Welcome back to the 1st Law Newsletter - Friday Edition.

In this email:

  • Holiday Slump

  • New Years Goals

  • Quotes from unknown sources and also Jesus

Falling into my old ways

I haven't lived with my parents since I was 18 and I find it interesting how I fall into the same old habits whenever I come home to visit or for the holidays. I waste hours lying on the same couch I have been lying on for years. I change my diet to eat similar foods to my family who are mostly plant based. I hang out with my same friends who live in Toronto and do the same old things. I usually have plans for novel things that I want to do when I come home, but I just cant seem to break out of the established habits I have been reinforcing for years. Old habits die hard.

I find I am infinitely more productive when I am not living with my parents. Why... I'm not sure. Maybe because I feel like I am a kid again, and as most kids I was focused on chilling not grinding haha. Does anybody else relate to this feeling when they visit home for the holidays?

New Years Goal Setting

Send me some of your 2024 goals. I want to know what they are. If you show me yours I'll show you mine lol.

Also, remember this quote by Marcus Aurelius: "You could be good today, but instead you choose tomorrow." They are 2024 goals but they could start today.

Quotes from How to Win Friends and Influence People by Dale Carnegie

"A man without a smiling face must not open a shop."

How to Win Friends and Influence People

"To recall a voter's name is statesmanship. To forget is oblivion."

How to Win Friends and Influence People

"By fighting you never get enough, but by yielding you get more than you expected."

How to Win Friends and Influence People

Agree with thine adversary quickly."

Jesus

Take what you may from these quotes. I recommend reading the book for yourself. A lot of it may seem like common sense but that is also exactly what makes it so applicable. If you are not doing the basic things in order to be an agreeable person, making friends, keeping friends and winning arguments will be more difficult than they need be.

Thanks for reading!

Lucas