SVO languages, monotony, and unplugging from distractions (074)

1st Law Friday - July 5th 2024

Welcome back to the 1st Law Newsletter - Friday Edition.

In this email:

  • Subject-Verb-Object syntax

  • Dealing with monotony

  • Just unplug

Subject-Verb-Object syntax

A fundamental aspect of any language, spoken and programming alike, is its syntax. The rules that govern how words are combined to form sentences. One of the most common sentence structures across spoken languages is Subject-Verb-Object (SVO) .

In an SVO language, the subject comes first, followed by the verb, and then the object. This structure is straightforward, intuitive, and aligns with the way we perceive actions and their agents.

For example, in English: "She (subject) reads (verb) books (object).”

In French: “Elle (subject) lit (verb) des livres (object).”

In Spanish: “Ella (subject) lee (verb) libros (object).”

We naturally notice the actor first, then the action, and finally the recipient of the action. This order reflects a logical flow that our brains find easy to understand and produce.

However, I wonder how much of that perception is based on your primary language. For example, Japanese is a Subject-Object-Verb language. Do the Japanese perceive the world differently? Does their first language influence the way they think?

Dealing with monotony

Sometimes, waking up to just do it all over again feels like a grind. Laying in bed, listening to my alarm blare in the other room. Knowing I have a long day of work ahead of me. Work that I do not particularly enjoy no less. Feeling my heavy eyelids try to shut on me and sleep through the alarm.

But still, I get up, hop in the shower and get out the door asap. Honestly, once I’m outside, it all gets better. Feeling the sun on my face, the ambient temperature envelop me. Life is good.

But still, I have to work. I understand work is necessary, no life is complete without some deep and meaningful work. However, how do I escape the feeling of monotony? How do I escape from the rat race and discover what I am truly meant to do? Or is it the reality of monotony that I am trying to escape from…?

I think just keeping my why in mind is essential. I need to know what the grind is for or else it feel meaningless. Also, staying present and being mindful helps a lot. Instead of being bored, I can look around and appreciate the beauty that surrounds me. Anyways, just a lil rant. I started writing and this just came out. Don’t overthink it :)

Quote I Want To Share

“Almost everything will work again if you unplug it for a few minutes, including you.”

Anne Lamott

The stimulus is not good for clear thinking. Eliminate the distractions and go within. What have you forgotten about yourself?

Thanks for reading!

Lucas