PAY attention (010)

Distraction is the killer of creativity.

Truly.

I have been trying to think more clearly, and have a capable mind.

I have noticed that distractions really hinder my ability to think (unsurprisingly).

If I watch YouTube videos for 1 hour, I feel as though I have no rational power left in me after.

Contrarywise, if I avoid my laptop and my phone and instead meditate, or read, or go on a walk alone, my mind fires up and turns into a weapon - precise and powerful (which it should be like more often).

My message to you is this:

"starve your distractions, feed your focus" - Somebody

You must focus. F.O.C.U.S.

Follow. One. Course. Until. Success.

If I want to accomplish my most ambitious goals, I know I must become the best version of myself, and I know this version of myself does not waste their time, and perhaps more importantly their focus and attention on mindless entertainment and cheap dopamine.

Attention is a resource, and in this day and age it is equally, if not more, valuable than money.

Think about the last time someone, perhaps a teacher or a boss, asked you to pay attention. To PAY attention.

What else do you pay...? How important is that other thing...? If someone asked you to pay money for something you didn't want, would you do it?

You must treat your attention the same way. Do not pay attention to people, ideas, or things that do not interest you.

Your attention is finite. Regenerative, but finite nonetheless.

Once you have depleted your attention for the day, you must engage in regenerative activities to replenish it.

These include:

  • sleep

  • exercise

  • meditation

  • reading

  • good conversation

  • and many, many more (these are more so tailored to me and what I do)

For real, focus and attention are super, SUPER important, and must be protected at all times.

Its no fluke that social media attempts to sap all of your attention.

Where attention flows, money goes.

This is true and can work against you or for you.

If all of your attention is on social media and online shopping and the like... you will most likely spend some money on something you've clicked on before long... Its almost impossible to resist - its much easier to avoid the situation altogether.

Likewise, if your attentions is on your personal goals, your job, your passions... you will find yourself to be very wealthy before long.

Heed my message (and ignore my mid19th century vocabulary, I was feeling myself today haha).

Protect your attention at all costs.

Thanks for reading :) I hope this email has brought you some insight and perspective.

Always Strive and Prosper,

Lucas