Independent thought and opinions (101)

1st Law Tuesday- Oct 15th 2024

Focus for the week

Thinking clearer. Questioning my beliefs. Holding and expressing only those opinions which I have thought through independently. I feel like this is much harder than it seems. How do you know what is your actual opinion? Can preferences even exist if other people weren’t around as comparisons? If I held one belief, and then heard someone bring up a good point, can I change my mind? At what point is it my belief and not that of someone else?

This can be especially difficult for me as I literally gather opinions and ideas weekly and regurgitate them in this newsletter. Am I selling out my beliefs? Or am I like the pretzel, a middleman, merely recognizing greatness…?

I think my course of action going forward will be to gather my important opinions in writing. If there are reasons written below the topic, I will allow myself to express them in public. Otherwise, I will try to keep my mouth shut and continue to gather information in order to form and understand my individually formulated beliefs. Wish me luck haha.

What I’m Reading

Last week I read The Fountainhead by Ayn Rand. It is a long book and I feel like it could be edited down, but overall, I really enjoyed it. The characters engaged me thoroughly. Any aspiring architect must read it. I don’t know how I want to describe this book. It’s not for everybody. To get some idea what you can expect from it, read the quotes below. The topic above was also inspired by the book. Decide for yourself if you are interested.

“There’s so much nonsense about human inconsistency and the transience of all emotions. I’ve always thought that a feeling which changes never existed in the first place. There are books I liked at the age of sixteen. I still like them.”

Gail Wynand, in The Fountainhead by Ayn Rand

“Do you remember, Howard, what I told you once about the psychology of a pretzel? Don’t despise the middleman. He’s necessary. Someone had to tell them. It takes two to make a very great career: the man who is great, and the man--almost rarer--who is great enough to see greatness and say so.”

Kent Lansing, in The Fountainhead by Ayn Rand

“Men differ in their virtues, if any, but they are alike in their vices.”

Gail Wynand, in The Fountainhead by Ayn Rand

Have a great week :)

Lucas