Go at your own pace (087)

1st Law Tuesday- Aug 27th 2024

Go at your own pace

Sometimes I listen to my thoughts and I’m appalled - it is so easy to get caught up in comparisons: "This person has it so easy/ they’re just lucky”, “why does this person make so much money”, “If only that happened to me, I would also be…”. Who cares! This is just cope, and its irrelevant. I am not them and they’re not me. I need to break free from these thoughts. I need to slow down and go within. All of this external focus makes it hard to think clearly and understand what I really care about.

August has been a bit of a slump month for me. I have been enjoying my life, but I have been falling off with my yearly goals - not stretching enough, not reading enough, giving in to too many distractions, not practicing the things I want to be practicing… However, I decided to just let go this month and see what happens. I stopped tracking everything and am just living by intuition. It feels good.

“Mountains should be climbed with as little effort as possible and without desire. The reality of your own nature should determine the speed. If you become restless, speed up. If you become winded, slow down. You climb the mountain in an equilibrium between restlessness and exhaustion. Then, when you're no longer thinking ahead, each footstep isn't just a means to an end but a unique event in itself. This leaf has jagged edges. This rock looks loose. From this place the snow is less visible, even though closer. These are things you should notice anyway. To live only for some future goal is shallow. It's the sides of the mountain which sustain life, not the top. Here's where things grow."

Robert Pirsig

What I’m Reading

I am currently in the midst of reading The War of Art by Steven Pressfield. I feel as through this is a great coffee table book. One that you can pick up and open to a random spot, read a few pages, ponder for a few minutes, and then continue with your day. And I say that in a good way. One of my favourite books of all time, Meditations by Marcus Aurelius, also plays this role for me.

Have a great week :)

Lucas